The Kindness of strangers and friends

I’m so lucky that I’ve had a lot of friends and my parents coming over and helping me do things. I am surprised by the number of things that are difficult, I can’t hold jars or grip anything with my left hand so that I can open them, I can’t hold anything with my left hand to chop it to cook. There are a lot of things that are really hard like getting dressed and trying to get my hand through sleeves, tying laces.  All of a sudden you realise how important your fingers are. It also makes you appreciate what disabled people have to put up with all the time, and mine is minor in comparison. My mum has to wash my hair for me. Styling my hair has gone out of the window, its the wash and go look now! My friends have been picking me up and taking me out, buttering my bread for me, and all kinds of silly everyday things we take for granted 🙂  I have had flowers, get well cards, fresh fruit all chopped up ready for me to eat, and been very well looked after. 🙂

My neighbours have been brilliant, all offering their help, and one in particular, making me a curry, then a chilli, and a chocolate cake!  It’s amazing having so many people that are willing to help me out. It would be really hard to survive if it was just me. I am genuinely very surprised and grateful at how kind people can be, even strangers.  I have had doors opened for me, my coffee carried to my table for me, the list goes on.  When we hear all the bad stuff on the news all the time it makes you realise how inherently good and caring people most people are on a general everyday level.

I don’t know if it is something to do with fingers being so sensitive or the fact they are more on show but its amazing how enthusiastic the support has been, I have had other quite bad injuries in the past without so much help. But there weren’t the same graphic photos of the injury to show!. Of course, all injuries are bad, but I think there is something about finger injuries that make people cringe, judging by their facial expressions when I tell them what I’ve done!  Their lips purse together, their faces screw up, and ouch or ooh is the common expression!

I am still keeping my fingers up in the two finger salute!  If they move below the level of my heart each heartbeat is like a little painful twitch in my fingers.  Anything such as walking or getting the heart rate up, and the throbbing is there. I can see I will be unfit by the end of this as I am not doing much of my normal exercise.

To start with I struggled to do my dressings twice a day and to look at it. it’s really not for the squeamish. I have trouble even looking at some of the photos I have to send to the hand surgeon, and it’s my fingers!  But now I am getting used to it a bit more.  It has to be done, so I just get on with it. I guess I get to see the healing process along the way.

There is a continuous tingling and heat sensation in my fingers along with occasional sharp pains like getting a needle poked into it! All part of the healing process I guess.

Leave a Reply

